The Latest News!
December 18, 2022

Capital Fencing Academy Czajkowski Cup Sabre Open - Saturday, January 21, 2023

The Capital Fencing Academy will host a Mixed Sabre Open event on Saturday, January 21. The competition will close registration at 2:00pm.

Preregister at AskFRED.

Capital Fencing Musketeer Circuit #2 - Sunday, January 22, 2023

The Capital Fencing Academy will host the second Musketeer Circuit of the season on Sunday, January 22.

Youth-10 Mixed Sabre will close registration at 10:00am. Youth-12 Mixed Sabre will close at 11:30am. Youth-14 Mixed Sabre will close at 2:00pm.

Preregister at AskFRED.

Capitol Division Summer National Qualifiers - Saturday & Sunday, January 28 & 29, 2023

The Capitol Division qualifiers for the Summer National Championships will be held on Saturday and Sunday, January 28 and 29 at DCFC's Forest Glen Fencing Center. The qualifiers are open to Capitol Division Members ONLY. Citizenship requirements apply. Please note the registration times. Times are closer together so that as one event ends the other may begin. These are events for Division II/III and Youth-14 fencers. Y14 fencers must be born between 2008 and 2011, inclusive, or be on the Y12 national point rankings. Division II/III competitors must be ranked C or below and born in 2009 or before. Division II/III events are also qualifiers for Veteran Summer Nationals. If those on points list have trouble preregistering, email the organizer.

Registration is required on AskFRED before the registration deadline (January 21, 2023). The registration fee is $10.00 plus $45.00 per event entered if registered online. Late fees are $10.00 registration fee plus $90.00 per event.

The sabre qualifiers will be held on Saturday, January 28. The foil and epee qualifiers will be held on Sunday, January 29.

Preregister at AskFRED.

Referee Training Supported by Capitol Division

The Capitol Division Executive Committee is committed to increasing the number of rated referees within the division.

To support this goal, the Committee has voted to reimburse any Capitol Division member's referee clinic fees and testing fees if they pass the written test and practical exam and successfully earn a referee rating. Travel and hotel expenses are not reimbursable, only the fees for the clinic and test. Verification of the rating earned and documentation of the testing fees should be sent to the Division Treasurer.

In addition, the Capitol Division will reimburse the $35.00 membership upgrade fee for new referees (and those who have just turned age 18).

Capitol Division International Competition Grants

For the 2021-2022 season, the Capitol Division is pleased to make international competition travel grants of $400.00 available to individual fencers who are members of the Division. These grants are being made to fulfill our mission, as outlined in our bylaws, to assist Divisional fencers to reach their full potential in fencing. These grants are available to reimburse expenses related to competing in cadet, junior, and senior US Fencing designated international competitions and at Veteran World Championships and to attending those same competitions as a member of the official US Fencing delegation.

Fencers are eligible for one grant per season. Grants are available for expenses not fully reimbursed from other sources.

In order to receive these grants, eligible fencers should submit the Capitol Division International Competition Grant Application to the Capitol Division's Developmental Committee with copies of all the relevant receipts. Reimbursements for expenses will be disbursed by the Treasurer of the Capitol Division.

Deadlines for filing applications for the 2021-2022 season:

Application and receipts should be e-mailed to or mailed to:

Capitol Division Developmental Grants

For the 2021-22 season, the Capitol Division is pleased to make developmental grants of $300.00 available to the member clubs. Member clubs are eligible for developmental grants every other season. These grants are being made to fulfill our purposes and objectives as outlined in our bylaws, in particular our missions to support, enhance and develop the sport of fencing and to assist Divisional fencers to reach their full potential in fencing. These grants should not be used for ordinary club expenses such as rent or US Fencing membership; rather the clubs should use these funds to enhance the experience of Divisional fencers in the spirit of our bylaws. One grant will be available to each club.

The list below gives a few examples of ways that these funds could be used. This list includes suggestions, but the committee is open to other uses:

In order to receive these grants, the club representative should submit a proposal on the Capitol Division Developmental Grant Application to the Capitol Division's Developmental Committee. The proposal will be submitted to the rest of the Executive Committee. If the proposal is approved, the club representative should submit receipts for the expenses covered by the grant and a check will be sent to the member club.

The grant application form and receipts should be e-mailed to or mailed to:

The deadline for grant application is June 15, 2022.

Minutes of the Capitol Division Annual Membership Meeting & Executive Committee Meetings

Capitol Division Rated Referees

Below is a list of the rated referees (from the US Fencing Referee Database) who are members of Capitol Division and are listed as "Good-to-Go" (as of 2022-10-12). Note: to be listed as GTG, referees must sign the referee contract on their USA Fencing profile page.

The Referees’ Commission has realigned referee ratings to match requirements for local, regional and national events. Moving away from the current ratings of P for having passed exams in a particular weapon, and the 10 – 1 scale — with the lower number representing the higher level of the referee — the new rating scale is:

Note: R1 rated referees are eligible for selection to referee at national events, depending on tournament needs.

N2 and N1 ratings will be awarded during the annual Referees’ Commission meeting.

First Name Last Name Foil Epee Sabre
Matthew Chin L2 L1
Elliott Clinton N2 N1
Nicolas Del Vecchio R1
Asif Dhar R2
Jill Feldman R1 R1 L1
Sreehitha Gandluri R1 R1
Ken Gauvey L2
Kieran Gauvey L2
Bobby Gibbs N1 N2 R2
Nicolas Hensal L1
Ryan Hrapsky L2 R1 L2
Robert Klebs L2 R2
Andrei Nazlymov R2
Tatiana Nazlymov R2
Natalie Olsen L1 L1
Malcolm Patterson L1 R1 L1
David Ruskin L1 R2 L1
Joseph Simak L2 L1
Brianna Smith N2 N2 N2
Fen Tamulonis R1 N2
Brent Weil L1

Division Officers and Executive Committee 2022-2023

Nick Ferrara (
Arnold Wynn (
Bettie Graham (
Fen Tamulonis (
Members at Large:
Valerie Asher (
Elliott Clinton (
Raymond Finkleman (
Representatives of the member clubs
Phil Keefer, CAPITAL (
Matthew Moore, CCFC (
Eliza Mace, DCFC (
Galina Rakityanskaya, INVICTA - (
Jill Feldman, NAZLYMOV - (
Oleg Rusanov, ROYALFA (
Hunter Higgison, GWFC (
George King, NCFC (

[Return to Capitol Division Home Page]

Raymond Finkleman
Last revised December 18, 2022